Uncategorized

GOD THE WAR-MENTOR

Psalm 18 is a warrior’s Psalm. In its progression, first, we see God himself as a warrior who fights for the righteous. Verses 2-19 painted the scene and see a summary if his action in verse 12-14: “From the brightness before Him, His thick clouds passed with hailstones and coals of fire. The LORD thundered from heaven, and the Most High uttered His voice, hailstones and coals of fire. He sent out His arrows and scattered the foe, lightnings in abundance, and He vanquished them.” Secondly we see God as a warrior who delivers the righteous. That’s the message of verse 20-28. With the pure You will show Yourself pure; and with the devious You will show Yourself shrewd. For You will save the humble people, but will bring down haughty looks. For You will light my lamp; The LORD my God will enlighten my darkness.” Now the most exciting is the third section, verses 29-50. There, God is described as a WAR-MENTOR, one who trains and mentors the righteous in battle. In verse 29, David says, “For by You I can run against a troop, by my God I can leap over a wall.” In 32-34, he says, “It is God who arms me with strength, and makes my way perfect. He makes my feet like the feet of deer, and sets me on my high places. HE TEACHES MY HANDS TO MAKE WAR, So that my arms can bend a bow of bronze.” And in 39-40, he says, “For You have armed me with strength for the battle; You have subdued under me those who rose up against me. You have also given me the necks of my enemies, So that I destroyed those who hated me.” Friends, are you going through your lessons? Are you learning to fight the battles of life? The God you serve is too powerful to produce a weak and prey-like you. You are the son or daughter of a WARRIOR. But you must understand God’s dealings. When David was going through it all in the wilderness as a shepherd, little did he know that one day he will shepherd a whole nation called Israel. When he was dealing with bears and lions, he did not know that Goliath will be waiting for him one day. When he was disciplining himself to be skillful in playing harp and composing, he did not know he will one day be labeled THE SWEET PSALMIST OF ISRAEL. When he was carrying out his guerilla warfare because of Saul’s persecution, he did not know he will bring PEACE to Israel by fighting and defeating all the surrounding nations with ease. Our life experiences are our battle training ground. When you are going through them, don’t complain. GOD IS MENTORING YOU. He is TEACHING YOUR HAND TO MAKE WAR.

Standard

Leave a Reply

